

## California Board of Accountancy 2450 Venture Oaks Way, Suite 300

Sacramento, CA 95833





The California Board of Accountancy has illustrated changes to the regulatory text in the following manner: text proposed to be added is <u>underlined</u>; text proposed to be deleted is displayed in <del>strikeout</del>.

# Proposed Regulatory Language Article 2 of Title 16, California Code of Regulations Section 10 Article 12, California Code of Regulations Section 87.1

#### § 10. Examination on Rules of Professional Conduct.

<u>Until [OAL: insert effective date of these regulations]</u>, <u>All all applicants</u> for a certified public accountant license shall pass an examination in professional ethics, acceptable to the Board, before such license is to be issued. This professional ethics examination shall be passed no sooner than two years prior to the Board's consideration of the application for licensure.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 5010 and 5018, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 5018, 5082, <del>5092</del> and 5093, Business and Professions Code.

### § 10.1. Examination on Rules of Professional Conduct Transition.

(a) Licensees who meet all of the following requirements may use a passing score on the Board-approved examination in professional ethics toward two hours of continuing education in the period immediately preceding their first license expiration date as described in Section 87.1(a):

(1) Initial certified public accountant license was issued on or after [OAL: insert effective date of these regulations].(2) CBA-approved professional ethics examination was purchased prior to [OAL: insert

effective date of these regulations].

(b) This section shall become inoperative on [OAL: insert date that is two years from the

effective date of these regulations].

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 5010 and 5018, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 5018, 5027, 5082, and 5093, Business and Professions Code.

3

5

1

2

#### § 87.1. Continuing Education Requirements for New Licensees.

6 7 8

9

10

11

12

13

- (a) All continuing education must be completed on or after the date the initial license was issued. Once a license is issued, a licensee is required to complete a two-hour regulatory review course as described in Section 87.8 at any time between the date the initial license was issued and the first license expiration date. This continuing education shall be part of the total hours of continuing education required by this section but shall not be part of the continuing education required by subsection (c), (d), (e), (f) or (g).
- 14 (b) Once a license is issued, the licensee must complete 20 hours of continuing
- education as described in Section 87(a)(2) and (a)(3) for each full six month period from
- the date the initial license was issued to the first license expiration date in order to fulfill
- 17 the continuing education requirement for license renewal. If the time period between the
- date the initial license was issued and the first license expiration date is less than six full
- months, no continuing education the only continuing education required for license
- 20 renewal is the two-hour regulatory review course described in subsection (a) is required
- 21 for license renewal.
- (c) A licensee who is required to complete a total of 80 hours of continuing education
   pursuant to subsection (b) shall also complete four hours of ethics education pursuant
- pursuant to subsection (b) shall also complete four hours of ethics education pursuant to Section 87(b)
- 24 to Section 87(b).
- 25 (d) Once a license is issued, a licensee who engages in financial or compliance auditing
- of a governmental agency at any time between the date the initial license was issued
- 27 and the first license expiration date shall complete six hours of governmental auditing
- continuing education as part of each 20 hours of continuing education required under subsection (b). Continuing education in the areas of governmental accounting and
- 30 auditing shall meet the requirements of Section 87(c). A licensee who meets the
- 31 requirements of this subsection shall be deemed to have met the requirements of
- 32 subsection (e).
- 33 (e) Once a license is issued, a licensee who engages in audit, review, compilation, or
- 34 attestation services at any time between the date the initial license was issued and the
- 35 first license expiration date shall complete six hours of continuing education in
- accounting and auditing as part of each 20 hours of continuing education required under
- subsection (b). Continuing education in the areas of accounting and auditing shall meet
- 38 the requirements of Section 87(d).

- 1 (f) Once a license is issued, a licensee who provided preparation engagements as
- 2 his/her highest level of service at any time between the date the initial license was
- 3 issued and the first license expiration date shall complete a minimum of two hours of
- 4 continuing education in courses described in Section 87(e) as part of each 20 hours of
- 5 continuing education required under subsection (b).
- 6 (g) A licensee who is required to complete a total of 80 hours of continuing education
- 7 pursuant to this section and must complete continuing education pursuant to subsection
- 8 (d), (e), or (f) shall also complete an additional four hours of continuing education
- 9 specifically related to the prevention, detection, and/or reporting of fraud affecting
- 10 financial statements. This continuing education shall be part of the total hours of
- 11 continuing education required by this section, but shall not be part of the continuing
- 12 education required by subsection (d), (e), or (f).
- 13 (h) If an initial license expires as defined in Section 81(b)(2), the licensee must complete
- an additional 20 hours of continuing education as described in Section 87(a)(2) and
- 15 (a)(3) for each full six month period from the date of license expiration to the date on
- which the licensee applies for license renewal, up to a total of 80 hours of continuing
- 17 education. If the time period between the date the license expired and the date on which
- the licensee applies for license renewal is less than six full months, no additional
- 19 continuing education is required for license renewal.
- 20 (i) All continuing education required by this section shall be completed in the two-year
- 21 period immediately preceding the date on which the licensee applies for license
- renewal. If the date on which the licensee applies for license renewal is less than two
- years from the date the initial license was issued, all continuing education must be
- completed on or after the date the initial license was issued.
- 25 (j) Failure to Comply.
- A licensee's willful failure to comply with the requirements of this section shall constitute
- 27 cause for disciplinary action pursuant to Section 5100(g) of the Accountancy Act.
- 28
- 29 NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 5010 and 5027, Business and Professions Code.
- 30 Reference: Section 5028, Business and Professions Code.