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MESSAGE FROM THE DIRECTOR
�
Welcome to the first Consumer 
Connection of 2016. 

The State of California has always 
been a leader when it comes to 
innovation in state government; 
many of the other 49 states look to 
California, and DCA, when it comes 
to the way we protect consumers 
and regulate licensees. Last year, 

the passage of the Medical Marijuana Regulation and Safety 
Act added another new regulatory entity, the Bureau of Medical 
Marijuana Regulation (Bureau/BMMR), under our varied and 
innovative umbrella. Although the Bureau doesn’t officially open 
its doors for business for a few more years, the DCA team is 
already hard at work getting the structure of the Bureau in place. 

DCA is unique among State departments because of the 
variety of professions we regulate. One of the things that 
Consumer Connection does is highlight the work we do to 
protect and educate consumers in the areas we regulate. 
That commitment represents our belief that an educated 
and informed consumer is a powerful force in fighting scams 
and ensuring fair and honest treatment for all California 
consumers. 

This issue is an excellent example. 

Last year, the California State Athletic Commission (CSAC) 
took the lead in addressing the subject of youth participating in 
Pankration (MMA fighting); this year, CSAC is leading the way 
again, this time addressing the risky—and sometimes deadly— 
practice of extreme weight cutting. 

The skyrocketing prices of prescription drugs have caused some 
consumers to risk their health by skipping doses, ordering from 
questionable online pharmacies, or not taking their prescriptions 
at all. DCA’s State Board of Pharmacy and Medical Board of 
California offer some recommendations on how to manage the 
costs and stay healthy. 

Here’s a look at some of the other articles in this issue: 

Urban beekeeping is back in Los Angeles after a 136-year 
hiatus. Disease, pesticides, and other factors have taken a toll 
on the world’s bee population; the little pollinators contribute 
$15 billion per year to our economy by keeping fruits, nuts, and 
vegetables in our diets. Find out how to build your own hive or 
how to give the bees a helping hand. 

Like it or not, driverless cars are coming—actually, they’re already 
on some California streets. Find out the pros and cons, plus the 
new proposed rules from the Department of Motor Vehicles. 

Other articles include how to protect your hearing, what to 
do if your car is a lemon, a look at new consumers laws, and 
crowdfunding. 

It’s a variety of consumer news, by all means. We invite you to 
read on and find out more. 

AWET KIDANE, Director 

If you have any questions or comments or would like more 
information regarding reports, statistics, quotes, and 
studies mentioned in this publication, please e-mail us at 
consumerconnection@dca.ca.gov. 

mailto:consumerconnection@dca.ca.gov


           

       
 

 

  
 
  

 

 
  
 
 

 
  

 

  
 
 

 
 

   
  

  

  

  

  

  
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

Left With a LEMON? 
Getting Help Using the State 
Arbitration Certification Program 

Sometimes situations don’t go as planned—owning 
a car can be one of them. Despite the proper research 
and inspections before buying a car, you may still be 
left with a “lemon.” 

If you think that may be the case, there are possible 
solutions. As is standard with all new—and some 
pre-owned—vehicles, an original manufacturer’s 
warranty provides a service contract for a specific 
amount of time. The dealership’s service department 
may be able to immediately diagnose and remedy 
the problem. 

However, if the issue persists after multiple attempts 
by the manufacturer to fix the same problem, turn 
to DCA’s Arbitration Certification Program (ACP). 
You can pursue arbitration if you’ve met all these 
requirements: 

— 	 The specific problem is covered by the 
original manufacturer’s warranty or within 
six months of expiration. This does not 
include extended warranties. 

— 	 You have notified the manufacturer directly 
about the problem, if required. 

— 	 The problem substantially impairs the use, 
value, or safety of your vehicle. 

— 	 The problem has not been satisfactorily 
repaired. 

— 	 The manufacturer has a State-certified
 
arbitration program.
 

Several vehicle manufacturers offer arbitration in 
California. Arbitration is a dispute resolution process 
that uses a neutral third party (an arbitrator). The ACP 
(www.dca.ca.gov/acp) is free, does not require an 
attorney, and provides information about arbitration, 
recordkeeping suggestions, and sources of advice 
and assistance for consumers while facilitating the 
arbitration process. Decisions are typically rendered 
within 40 days of the ACP’s receipt of your application. 

Although the California Lemon Law also seeks to 
protect buyers and lessees from serious warranty 
defects that the manufacturer or dealer can’t repair, 
before you can use the Lemon Law in court, you 
must first resort to the manufacturer’s State-certified 
arbitration program. 

“ACP is a great alternative for consumers who would 
prefer to avoid the costs associated with litigation and 
a faster resolution of their warranty dispute; ACP exists 
to aid California consumers in navigating this process,” 
said Sherrie Moffet-Bell, ACP Bureau Chief. 
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After contacting your manufacturer’s certified arbitration program and filing an application, the 
manufacturer may or may not attempt to settle the case with you. It is your choice to attempt to settle 
or proceed to arbitration. The program will request documents from you such as repair orders, sales 
contract, vehicle registration, etc. A hearing will then be scheduled at a location near you. You can 
present your case in person, by phone, or in writing. During the hearing, both parties are asked to 
present their case and explain why they feel the vehicle is or is not a lemon. You will also be given the 
opportunity to rebut any testimony provided by the manufacturer. The arbitrator will ask questions of 
both parties. A test drive and/or inspection of the vehicle may also be performed by the arbitrator. 

Participating manufacturers in the ACP have agreed to comply with the arbitrator’s decision if the 
consumer accepts it. The consumer has the option to accept or reject the arbitrator’s decision. Should 
the consumer reject the arbitrator’s decision, they can still pursue their legal rights in court. 

2 California Department of Consumer Affairs |  Spring 2016

If there is no State-certified arbitration program for 
your type of vehicle, you can pursue your California 
Lemon Law rights in court. The Lemon Law states 
that if your new car has a serious warranty defect 
the dealer or vehicle manufacturer can’t fix, even 
after several reasonable repair attempts, you may be 
eligible to get your money back or get another car. 
To learn more about the Lemon Law, download the 
Lemon-Aid for Consumers publication at 
www.dca.ca.gov/acp/pdf_files/englemn.pdf. 

As an alternative, you may also consider 
mediation through the New Motor Vehicle Board’s 
Consumer Mediation Services Program; for more 
information, visit www.nmvb.ca.gov. 

2 California Department of Consumer Affairs |  Spring 2016 
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New Laws Impact
California Consumers 

The new year brings with it a host of new laws that will impact 
Californians. Although 807 bills were signed into law last year, there 
are a few new consumer-specific laws that are good to know about 
before buying goods and services in 2016. 

Assembly Bill 265—Known as the Consumer Protection/Starter Interrupt Warning 
Law, AB 265 requires a “buy-here-pay-here” dealer to make certain disclosures 
and notices to a vehicle buyer when a car is sold with installed tracking and 
starter interrupt technology. 

A buy-here-pay-here dealer is defined as a used car dealer that assigns less than 
90 percent of their conditional sales and lease contracts to third-party lenders 
and, therefore, provides direct financing to car buyers. 

This law also requires advance warning be given to the purchaser prior to 
engagement of the starter interrupt technology if the buyer fails to make timely 
vehicle payments. 

AB 1073—A major new law for pharmacies is Assembly Bill 1073. This bill requires 
California pharmacists to provide translations of prescription instructions for 
use to patients upon request by a patient or his or her representative into at 
least five (5) languages other than English. The Board of Pharmacy provides 
translations in Spanish, Tagalog, Chinese, Vietnamese, Russian, and Korean. 

The California Board of Pharmacy—which regulates pharmacists—already 
requires no-cost, oral translation of both prescription labels and instructions 
for use to patients by either pharmacy staff or a call-in hotline, if interpretive 
services in that language are available. 

With this bill, California joins New York as the only two states in the nation to 
require pharmacists to provide non-English medication information to patients. 

Here are a few other consumer-related laws that took effect January 1. 

AB 1422—Ride-Sharing: Under AB 1422, ride-sharing services such as Uber and 
Lyft will have to participate in a Department of Motor Vehicles program and 
regularly monitor the records of its participating drivers. For more information 
on this service, log on to www.dmv.ca.gov. 
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AB 8—Yellow Alert: This new bill allows law-enforcement officers to utilize 
the State’s electronic freeway signs to broadcast information about vehicles 
suspected in hit-and-run incidents. Alerts will only be issued by local law 
enforcement agencies when there is a sufficient description of the offending 
vehicle or the identity of the suspect is known. California’s emergency 
alert system is typically used to inform the public of Amber Alerts in 
child-abduction cases. The Yellow Alert system will also be limited to the 
geographic area where the hit-and-run crime occurred and will only be 
implemented when the hit-and-run results in death or serious injury. 

AB 281—Collateral Recovery: This bill changes existing law to prohibit 
licensed repossessors and their agents from performing or charging for 
repair work, cleaning, or detailing of repossessed collateral; to prohibit a 
licensee from selling a consumer’s personal effects or personal property not 
covered by a security agreement; to require a licensee to provide the available 
inventory of repossessed collateral no later than 96 hours (120 hours if over 
a weekend or holiday) after recovery of the collateral when the licensee is 
unable to open a locked compartment in the collateral; and to allow a licensee 
or registrant to use a hard copy printout from the Bureau of Security and 
Investigative Services (Bureau) website or a legible electronic screenshot 
display as proof of licensure or registration in lieu of receiving a license or 
registration in the mail from the Bureau. 

AB 1097—Alarm Companies and Electronic Transactions: This new law 
authorizes those licensed, certified, or registered under the Alarm Company Act 
to conduct specific transactions electronically in compliance with the Uniform 
Electronic Transactions Act and with the consumer’s permission. The Alarm 
Company Operator must also provide an identical paper copy of the signed 
electronic contract upon the consumer’s request. 

Senate Bill 254—Mattress Recycling: California and Connecticut are the only 
states in the nation that currently offer a recycling program for used mattresses 
and box springs. Residents can find their nearest participating collection site or 
recycling facility by visiting www.byebyemattress.com. 

SB 675—Hospital Patient Discharges: This bill allows hospitals to take specified 
actions relating to family caregivers, including notifying the family caregiver of 
the patient’s discharge or transfer to another facility. Hospitals also must provide 
information and counseling regarding the post-hospital care needs of the patient, 
but only if the patient has consented to the disclosure of this information. 

SB 270—Grocery Bags: Under SB 270, grocery store bags will be phased out at 
checkout counters at large grocery stores and supermarkets, convenience stores, 
and pharmacies in 2016. The law does not apply to plastic bags used for fruits, 
vegetables, or meats, or to shopping bags used at other retailers. However, it 
does allow grocers to charge a fee of at least 10 cents for supplying shoppers 
with paper and plastic bags. 
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 Safe and Sound:
�
PROT ECT ING  YOUR  EARS  

If you’ve ever walked through a forest or gone camping, you notice 
something—the dead silence. This differs dramatically from our city 
and suburbanite existences where we’re exposed to loud noises 
on a daily basis. The reality is that starting from a very young age, 
everyday noise—from lawn mowers and street traffic to MP3 players 
and rock concerts—takes a gradual and predictable toll on your ears. 

Turn it way down 
Noise is measured in decibels (dB), which indicates a sound’s 
intensity. The general rule is that a safe noise level should be no 
more than 85 dB; busy city traffic is an example of noise at about 
the 85 dB level. If you can carry on a conversation with someone in 
person without yelling, then you’re at a safe decibel level (60 dB). 
You can get a reading of decibel measurements through smartphone 

Spring 2016 5 

applications that display noise intensity. 

Take measures to protect your hearing 
To determine what is a safe listening level, set the volume to no more 
than 60 percent of the maximum level. Be sure to wear earplugs or 



           

 
 

  

  
  

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

  
  

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
  

  
 
 

 
 

 
  

 
 

 
 

  
 
 

 
 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
   

 
 

 

  

other hearing protection at potentially noisy venues, as well as when 
operating equipment and appliances such as a lawn mower or power 
tools. These protection measures can reduce noise by up to 30 dB. 

Instead of using earbuds, switch to over-the-ear headphones, 
which cancel out more background noise and let you hear better 
at lower volumes. 

The World Health Organization suggests 
taking listening breaks to reduce the 
time exposed to loud noises; moving 
away from direct loud noises such 
as loudspeakers; and limiting use of 
personal audio devices to no more than 
60 minutes per day. Overall, avoid being 
around loud noises; this warning is 
particularly important for young children, 
who are more sensitive to loud noises. 

Smoking is also connected to hearing 
loss. In a University of Manchester (U.K.) 

2014 study, researchers calculated that smokers were 15 percent 
more likely to develop hearing loss, and second-hand smokers were 
28 percent more likely to develop hearing loss than nonsmokers. 
The connection between smoking and hearing loss is not clear; it 
could be because of the toxins in the tobacco smoke, the smoking-
related cardiovascular disease effects, or perhaps both. 

If your workplace exposes you to loud noises, know that you are 
entitled to certain protections by your employer. The U.S. Department 
of Labor’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration can 
regulate noise in the workplace so that workers are not exposed to 
constant noise above 90 dB for longer than eight hours. 

How noise affects your health 
Because damage from loud noises is 
usually gradual, you may not notice 
that you’re suffering any hearing loss. 
However, according to the Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention, be 
aware of these warning signs: 
muffled or distorted hearing; 
difficulty hearing everyday sounds 
such as birds singing, alarm clocks, 
doorbells, and phones ringing; pain or 
ringing in the ears (tinnitus) after exposure to excessively 
loud sounds; and difficulty understanding speech during phone 
conversations or while participating in group conversations. 

In addition to hearing loss, there are other potential health effects 
from long-term noise exposure, including hypertension, sleep 

disruption, headaches, heart 
problems, and mental health 
and behavioral issues. Another 
gradual effect of hearing loss 
is a social one—it can lead to 
isolation from family and friends 
since you’re less engaged in 
conversation, which can then 
also lead to depression and other emotional issues. 

If you suspect that you may be suffering from hearing loss, 
consult a doctor who has specific training in ear care and hearing 
disorders (an otolaryngologist or otologist) and who is qualified and 
licensed by the Medical Board of California. Even if you don’t think 
you have any hearing issues, regular screenings are important to 
catch any loss at an early stage. 

How Loud is it? 
Check out the decibel (dB) levels of common noises: 

GUNSHOT OR FIREWORKS 

AMBULANCE OR JACK HAMMER 

LEAF BLOWER 

ROCK CONCERTS AND SPORTING EVENTS 

BUSY CITY TRAFFIC 

WASHING MACHINE 

HAIR DRYERS 

NORMAL CONVERSATION 

Keep it under 85 dB and you should be fine. If you go any 
higher, take precautions, such as staying away from direct 
noise and using earplugs or earmuffs (or both). 

Sources: Consumer Reports (July 2009), Hearing Loss Association of America, and ZocDoc. 

140 dB 

120 dB 

110 dB 

89–115 dB 

85 dB 

75 dB 

72–92 dB 

60 dB 
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California Wades Into 
Daily Fantasy Sports Debate 

Daily fantasy sports has exploded in popularity while 
revolutionizing the concept of fantasy sports. And 
with the exponential growth that has turned daily 
fantasy sports into a billion-dollar industry, heightened 
scrutiny has followed. 

A handful of states—New York, Illinois, Texas, 
Washington, Nevada among them—have determined 
daily fantasy sports (commonly referred to as DFS) 
is an illegal form of gambling and have banned it. 
Daily fantasy (primarily the domain of two websites, 
DraftKings and FanDuel) now has the attention of 
California lawmakers. 

The State Assembly approved Assembly Bill 1437 on 
January 27, legislation that would allow DFS websites 
to operate in California after obtaining a license 
through the State Department of Justice. In March, 
the Senate had yet to vote on AB 1437. 

Daily fantasy website operators contend the contests 
are games of skill, while opponents contend they are 
based on luck (and, therefore, are gambling). Fantasy 
sports are exempted from the federal ban on sports 
gambling. 

The thrust of Assembly Bill 1437, however, isn’t 
determining legality but rather focuses on regulating a 
rapidly growing industry that Californians are helping 
fuel with their pocketbooks. 

“The legal question is one for our Attorney General 
and the courts,” said Assemblymember Adam Gray, a 
Democrat from Merced who authored AB 1437. “The 
fact remains that we have millions of constituents 
playing these games with zero assurance of State 
protections. This legislation will bring California’s laws 
into the 21st century and provide consumers with the 
safeguards they expect the Legislature to provide.” 

Fantasy sports, in essence, is picking a lineup of 
players and playing against another team or teams of 
players. The group of players that produces the best 
collective statistics based on their performances in 
actual games wins. 

Traditional fantasy, with pro football as an example, 
typically amounts to a group of friends or co-workers 
drafting a team at the start of a season and juggling 
those players week-to-week based on who they think 
will perform the best. It’s a season-long competition 
with maybe a few hundred dollars as a one-time 
buy-in (the amount varies widely). 

Daily fantasy threw rocket fuel on the fire. Staying 
with the football example, daily fantasy sports 
allows you to pick a new team every week. Or five 
new teams for five different contests every week. 
During baseball or basketball season, you can play 
every day, in multiple contests, because there are 
actual games scheduled every day. Players have an 
assigned dollar amount and you have to stay under 
a given salary cap. Entry fees range from a few 
bucks per contest to hundreds, and winnings are paid 
out immediately. 

DAILY FANTASY SPORTSDAILY FANTASY SPORTS
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 It is not uncommon for tens of thousands of people to enter a single daily 
fantasy football contest that boasts a million-dollar first prize. 

With millions playing and the vast majority losing 
their money, revenues have rolled in—FanDuel and 
DraftKings are each valued at more than $1 billion. 

The lack of industry regulation with so much 
money at stake became a national story—and one 
lawmakers across the country started following—in 
September. That’s when it was discovered that a 
DraftKings employee won $350,000 in a single day 
on FanDuel, according to several media outlets, 
raising suspicions of impropriety among DFS 
operations. 

“California is setting the tone for the rest of the 
nation on what a regulatory framework should look 
like,” Gray said. “While there is still a lot of work 
to be done, I believe California will be the first to 
… implement legislation that allows its citizens to 
continue to play a game they love in a safe and fair 
environment.” 

Since that incident in September—and the media 
scrutiny that followed—the concept of “fair” daily 
fantasy competition has been challenged. While the 
barrage of commercials during the NFL season for 
daily fantasy sites touted ordinary Joes winning 
six-figure prizes, the reality is that the overwhelming 
majority of money won on major DFS sites goes to 
high-volume players who use advanced statistical 
modeling and automated tools to make a full-time 
living playing daily fantasy. 

According to a New York Times Magazine report 
in January, 89 percent of DraftKings players had a 
negative return on investment from 2013 to 2014. 
The report also said that, in the first half of the 2015 
Major League Baseball season, 91 percent of the 
prize money was won by a miniscule 1.3 percent of 
the players. 

All daily fantasy sports wagering is not created 
equally, however, and shouldn’t be painted with the 
same broad brush. There are dozens of variations 
of games one can enter. A group of friends spread 
out across the country, for instance, can compete 
against each other, with small stakes and good-
natured trash-talking as the focus. There are head-
to-head games and 50-50 games, in which the top 
half of finishers in the field get paid. 

In short, there are ways to level the playing field, 
at least to some extent, in daily fantasy. But if you 
want to drop a few dollars on typical daily fantasy 
contests with dozens or hundreds of competitors in 
the field, know that you’re likely facing some pros— 
and be prepared to donate your entry fee. 
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  State Athletic Commission 
Seeks Solutions to 

EXTREME WEIGHT C U T T I N G 
  
In December, just as the California State Athletic Commission (CSAC) prepared 
to host a first-of-its-kind summit in Los Angeles on drastic weight cutting and 
dehydration in combat sports such as mixed martial arts (MMA) and boxing, 
tragic news broke that focused a harsh light on the issue. 

Yang Jian Bing, a 21-year-old MMA fighter from China, died a week before the 
summit as a result of weight cutting in the lead-up to an event in the Philippines. 

The summit—which was attended by representatives from the two major 
MMA organizations, UFC and Bellator, as well as from the Association of 
Boxing Commissions, United States Anti-Doping Agency (USADA), and 
doctors from the Association of Ringside Physicians (ARP)—was the latest 
effort by CSAC to bring attention to the problem of weight cutting and severe 
dehydration. A brochure and posters created in conjunction with ARP have 
been distributed and posted statewide to raise awareness among fighters 
and trainers of the major health risks associated with drastic weight cutting 
and dehydration. 

Weight cutting is not new. Originating in amateur wrestling, cutting weight 
happens in the days leading up to a bout. Fighters generally try to be as 
heavy as they can for an edge over their opponent when they enter the 
MMA cage. Because of weight-class limits, however, that can mean cutting 
as much as 20 or 30 pounds leading up to a bout, only to have fighters try 
to rapidly rehydrate and gain back as much weight as possible in the 
24 hours between the official weigh-in and the fight. 

Such sharp weight cycling can pose major health risks: CSAC Executive 
Officer Andy Foster has been among the most outspoken advocates for 
change nationwide. 

“Dehydration and weight cutting is the most serious issue facing mixed martial 
arts from a health and regulatory perspective,” Foster said. “It is my hope that 
the Commission can amend the regulatory structure so the current athletes are 
better protected and also create education initiatives so that the next generation 
of combat sports participants can be better informed.” 

There have been several documented cases of MMA fighters being hospitalized, 
or worse, because of drastic weight cutting. Johny Hendricks, an up-and­
coming UFC fighter and former amateur wrestler, had to pull out two days 
before a big fight in October because he was hospitalized with a kidney stone 
and intestinal blockage due to an extreme weight cut. In 2013, MMA fighter 
Leandro Souza died after he passed out before the weigh-in for a fight in his 
native Brazil. The 26-year-old’s death was attributed to severe weight cutting. 
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Among the proposed rule changes discussed by the new 10-person rules 
and regulations committee at the summit are adding more weight classes 
(there are now 10 in the Unified Rules of MMA) and banning the use of IVs 
to rehydrate after a weigh-in. Weight classes would be added to encourage 
fighters to compete closer to their natural weight, while banning IVs would 
take away the most extreme method of rehydration. 

“The summit was great in that it brought a lot of ideas to the public and 
input from various stakeholders was discussed,” Foster said. “General 
consensus regarding the banning of IVs was agreed upon. Additionally, 
new weight classes were discussed, but this change will need to occur at 
the national level through the Association of Boxing Commissions.” 

In the wake of the summit, Commission members met February 2 in 
Los Angeles and followed through on their commitment to battle severe 
weight cutting and dehydration. Three emergency regulations were 
approved by CSAC: a ban on severe dehydration to make weight before 
a fight, the prohibition of IVs for rehydration, and moving back the time 
of weigh-ins from 24 hours to 30 hours before a fight (giving participants 
more time to rehydrate before a fight). 

The new rules may take effect as early as March. To enforce the ban of 
severe hydration before a fight, physicians can now collect urine samples 
from fighters that would be tested before a bout. If a fighter fails a 
hydration test, the bout would be canceled. 

Rehydration—or the lack of it—is one of the biggest concerns in the 
sport. Research has shown fighters cannot completely rehydrate in a 
single day between a weigh-in and the fight. 

A study in the Journal of Strength & Conditioning Research in 2013 
showed 39 percent of MMA fighters were entering competitions in a 
dehydrated state, and fighters entering the cage less than full strength 
because of dehydration pose a number of health risks, according to ARP, 
such as decreased heart function, heat illness, kidney damage, and loss 
of muscle strength and endurance. Doctors also warn that dehydrated 
fighters are likely at high risk of brain bleeding and concussion due to 
the lack of fluid around the brain. 

Because cutting weight is so ingrained in the athletes of combat 
sports, officials say it’s unrealistic to expect the practice to be 
eliminated. But reducing the most extreme weight-cutting and 
informing athletes about the inherent dangers it poses is an 
important starting point. 

MORE INFORMATION:
 
California State Athletic Commission:
 
www.dca.ca.gov/csac 

DCA’s publication can be 
ordered online at www. 
dca.ca.gov/publications/ 
publications_list.pdf. 

Association of Ringside Physicians: 
www.associationofringsidephysicians.org 
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 California Moves Ahead to Regulate
 

MEDICAL MARIJUANA
 
In 1936, the film “Reefer Madness” propagandized 
the catastrophic effects of marijuana use, which 
allegedly included insanity and criminal crime sprees, 
among other mayhem. Although arguably a hugely 
exaggerated idea, marijuana’s bad rap was maintained 
for decades. 

Contrast to today, when public opinion about 
legalizing marijuana has undergone a dramatic long-
term shift, according to a 2015 Pew Research Center 
study, which said that 53 percent favor the legal use 
of marijuana, while 44 percent are opposed. When 
asked why they favor or oppose legalizing marijuana, 
supporters of legalization mention its perceived health 
benefits or see it as no more dangerous than other 
drugs. To opponents, it is a dangerous drug, one that 
inflicts damage on people and society more generally. 
Another recent national poll conducted by public 

opinion research firm Anzalone Liszt Grove Research 
said 78 percent of Americans support allowing 
individuals to use marijuana for medical purposes if a 
doctor recommends it. 

But even as the controversy continues, several 
initiatives to legalize adult marijuana use—including 
recreationally—are being proposed for inclusion in 
California’s November 2016 ballot. And in 2015, 
the California Legislature passed and the Governor 
signed into law three bills (Assembly Bills 243 and 
266, and Senate Bill 643) that create a licensing and 
regulatory framework through the Medical Marijuana 
Regulation and Safety Act for the cultivation, 
manufacture, transportation, storage, distribution, and 
sale of medical marijuana to be administered by the 
California Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) 
through the Bureau of Medical Marijuana Regulation, 
the California Department of Food and Agriculture, 
and the California Department of Public Health. 
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The framework provides for environmental protection 
features along with provisions to root out and punish 
physicians who recommend marijuana in excess or 
take kickbacks from dispensaries, among other goals. 
At this time, it is anticipated that the regulations will be 
developed by January 1, 2018. 

In the meantime, DCA’s focus has been on education. 
“In order to fully understand the industry that the 
Department is now mandated to regulate, we have 
been actively engaging our partner agencies, industry 
experts, and local government,” said DCA Director 
Awet Kidane. “It’s a diverse industry and we’ll be 
working with many stakeholders to get it right.” 

Medical Marijuana and the Law 
In 1996, California voters passed the Compassionate 
Use Act (Proposition 215), which legalized 
marijuana use for medical purposes with a doctor’s 
recommendation to help with serious conditions. 

Effective January 1, 2004, Senate Bill 420 became 
law and further clarified the intent of Proposition 215. 
It mandated the creation of a voluntary identification 
card program for medical marijuana patients. That 
program, currently administered by the California 
Department of Public Health, maintains a registry 
database for verification of qualified patients and 
their primary caregivers. Although participation 
is voluntary, the Web-based registry allows law 
enforcement and the public to verify the validity 
of a qualified patient’s or primary caregiver’s 
card as authorization to possess, grow, transport, 
and/or use medical marijuana in California. SB 
420 also mandated that the State Attorney General 
develop guidelines for the security and nondiversion 
of marijuana grown for medical use. The federal 
government still categorizes marijuana as a 
Schedule I drug, along with heroin and LSD. 

Congress has twice approved appropriations 
amendments intended to prevent the federal government 
from interfering with state medical marijuana programs. 
In 2013, the U.S. Department of Justice (USDOJ) 
updated its federal marijuana enforcement policy in light 
of recent state ballot initiatives that legalized, under 
state law, the possession of small amounts of marijuana 
and provide for the regulation of marijuana production, 

processing, and sale. In a memo issued by the U.S. 
Attorney General’s Office (known as the Cole memo), 
the USDOJ made clear that marijuana remains an 
illegal drug under the Controlled Substances Act and 
that federal prosecutors will continue to aggressively 
enforce this statute, with a focus on preventing the 
following: 

� The distribution of marijuana to minors. 

� Revenue from the sale of marijuana from 
going to criminal enterprises, gangs, and 
cartels. 

� The diversion of marijuana from states 
where it is legal under state law in some 
form to other states. 

� State-authorized marijuana activity 
from being used as a cover or 
pretext for the trafficking of other 
illegal drugs or other illegal activity. 

� Violence and the use of firearms in the 
cultivation and distribution of marijuana. 

� Drugged driving and the exacerbation of 
other adverse public health consequences 
associated with marijuana use. 

� The growing of marijuana on public lands 
and the attendant public safety and 
environmental dangers posed by marijuana 
production on public lands. 

� Marijuana possession or use on federal 
property. 

But outside of these enforcement priorities, the federal 
government has traditionally relied on state and local 
authorities to address marijuana activity through 
enforcement of their own narcotics laws. The U.S. 
Attorney General’s memo adds, however, that if state 
enforcement efforts fall short in protecting against 
the harms listed above, the federal government may 
seek to challenge the regulatory structure itself as well 
as bring individual enforcement actions, including 
criminal prosecutions, focused on those harms. 
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How the Department will 
Implement the New Law 
Kidane outlined four phases to implement the 
mandates of the Medical Marijuana Regulations and 
Safety Act by January of 2018. They include: 

1. Hiring staff to draft regulations and hold 
stakeholder meetings. On February 4, 2016, 
Governor Brown appointed Lori Ajax to 
serve as Chief of the Bureau of Medical 
Marijuana Regulation. 

2. Developing and noticing regulations with 
a focus on stakeholder engagement and 
outreach through industry events. 

3. Focusing on information technology 
implementation. Once regulations 

are drafted and publicly noticed, 
the Department will get a better 
understanding of the business 
requirements of an IT solution, and 

focus can shift to implementing a licensing 
system while ensuring continuity across the 
systems of partnering agencies. 

4.	 Licensing and enforcement, including hiring 
and training enforcement staff and license 
application intake. 

Although the implementation of the Medical 
Marijuana Regulation and Safety Act is a little 
less than two years away, DCA has already been 
receiving questions from consumers, businesses, and 
potential licensees. Below are some frequently asked 
questions and answers. 

Consumers: 
Q. How can I apply for jobs with the Bureau of 
Medical Marijuana Regulation? 
A. Search for job vacancies on the CalHR website at 
https://jobs.ca.gov/. 

Q. Can I continue to use my current Medical Marijuana 
Identification Card to purchase medical marijuana? 

A. Yes. There will be no change in the process 
for using or applying for a Medical Marijuana 
Identification Card. 

Q. Can I only make purchases at dispensaries licensed 
by the State? 
A. No. Currently you may continue to purchase 
medical marijuana from a locally authorized dispensary. 

Businesses and Potential Licensees: 
Q. What types of licenses will the Bureau of Medical 
Marijuana Regulation issue? 
A. The Bureau is authorized to issue licenses for 
distributors, dispensaries, and transporters. 

Q. How can I apply for a license? 
A. DCA is in the early stages of establishing the Bureau 
of Medical Marijuana Regulation and is not issuing 
licenses at this time. DCA recommends interested 
parties continue to work with their city or county 
governments to procure the local licenses and permits 
required to establish a medical marijuana business. 

Q. How will these new laws impact my existing 
business? 
A. There should be no change in the way you do 
business. At this time the new law does not impact 
a local government’s ability to establish its own 
marijuana regulations, and at this time DCA is 
placing no additional requirements on existing 
marijuana businesses. 

Q. What is the timeline for the development of regulations? 
A. DCA anticipates that regulations will be developed 
by January 1, 2018. 

Q. How can I receive updates regarding regulation 
development? 
A. Once DCA commences regulations, information 
will be posted on its website at www.dca.ca.gov in 
order to announce proposed regulatory actions and 
solicit stakeholder input. 
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Q. How will DCA develop regulations? 
A. DCA will convene stakeholders, members of the 
public, and other licensing authorities to develop the 
standards and regulations necessary to successfully 
implement a statewide medical marijuana regulatory 
structure in California. 

Q. How long will licenses be active before they must 
be renewed? 
A. Licenses will be effective for one year, at which 
time they must be renewed in order for the licensee 
to continue distributing, dispensing, or transporting 
medical cannabis. 

Q. Where will I be able to obtain a license to grow 
medical marijuana? 
A. The California Department of Food and Agriculture 
is the agency responsible for licensing cultivation. It 
will also be responsible for implementing a tracking 
program for plants from cultivation to sale. Visit 
www.cdfa.ca.gov for more information. 

Q. Where can I get a copy of the new law? 
A. Three different bills provide the structure for the 
Medical Marijuana Regulation and Safety Act. Below 
are a few of the highlights from each bill. To see the 
entire text of each bill, go online to the California 
Legislative Information website at https://leginfo. 
legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml. 

Assembly Bill 266, Bonta. Medical Marijuana. 
•		 Enacts the Medical Marijuana Regulation and 
Safety Act. Establishes the Bureau of Medical 
Marijuana Regulation as part of the Department 
of Consumer Affairs. 

• Requires the Board of Equalization to adopt 
a system for reporting the movement of 
commercial cannabis and cannabis products. 

Assembly Bill 243, Wood. Medical Marijuana. 
•		Authorizes the Department of Finance to provide 

funding for the Bureau of Medical Marijuana 
Regulation. 

•	 Requires the Department of Food and Agriculture, 
the Department of Pesticide Regulation, the State 
Department of Public Health, the Department of 
Fish and Wildlife, and the State Water Resources 
Control Board to set standards relating to medical 
marijuana and its cultivation. 

•		Requires various State agencies to take specified 
actions to mitigate the impact that marijuana 
cultivation has on the environment. 

Senate Bill 643, McGuire. Medical Marijuana. 
•	 Sets standards for physicians and surgeons who 

prescribe medical marijuana. 

•	 Requires the Medical Board of California to 
investigate licensees who have repeatedly 
recommended excessive cannabis to patients or 
have prescribed cannabis without a good faith 
examination. 

•		Authorizes the Bureau 
of Medical Marijuana 

Regulation to require 

applicants to furnish a full 

set of fingerprints for the 
purposes of conducting 
criminal history record 
checks. 

•	 Requires the California 

Department of Public 

Health to oversee 

manufacturing 

and testing 

of medical 

cannabis. 


For updates about the developing Bureau of Medical Marijuana Regulations, 
visit DCA’s website at www.dca.ca.gov. 
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Beeline to 
the Backyard 

After a 136-year ban, backyard beekeeping is back in Los Angeles. Last fall, 
the Los Angeles City Council voted unanimously to legalize urban hives. 

The overturn of the ban—which was based on a mistaken belief that bees 
attack and damage fruit—is in line with a growing beekeeping trend in the 
United States. Because of honeybees’ vital role in sustaining agriculture and 
their simultaneous shrinking population, many are looking to give bees a 
boost through home-based hives. 

According to the White House, there were 6 million beehives in 
1947, but today there are only 2.5 million beehives. The decline 

is attributed to a number of factors, including a reduction in 
plants important to their diet, exposure to certain pesticides, and 
mite infestations and diseases. This decrease in pollinators has had 
a substantial effect: According to a June 2014 release by the White 
House, honeybees account for more than a $15 billion contribution 
to the U.S. economy through their role in keeping fruits, nuts, and 
vegetables in our diet. 

To combat the dramatic decline of honeybees in the United States, 
efforts are being made to grow and strengthen population 

levels. In May 2015, the federal government unveiled 
a national strategy to promote the health of 

honeybees and other pollinators. The plan 
involves establishing a National Pollinator 
Health Strategy to “understand, prevent, and 
recover from pollinator losses” and having a 
task force to “enhance pollinator habitat on 
federal lands and facilities.” 

Although backyard beekeeping may seem 
like a minimal effort compared to a complex 

Water is essential for a 
honeybee hive. Particularly in 
the spring and summer, bees 
use water for cooling down the 
hive through evaporation. 

Creating an ideal water source for your 
backyard beehive is simple. You can just use 
a bucket filled with water and floating objects, such as sticks or wine corks. These 
objects give the bees something to land on so they don’t drown as they gather water. 

Be sure to keep the water supply fresh and clean. If you find your bees prefer your 
neighbor’s pond or swimming pool, you may want to add several drops of lemongrass 
oil or vanilla to the water supply to attract them. 

How to Build a
Bee Watering Hole 
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Urban Hives Benefit 
Your Garden and the Environment 
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national plan and large-scale commercial beekeeping, maintaining urban bees can 
help. According to a May 2015 Los Angeles Times report, home-based bees can 

replenish declining populations and provide and introduce disease-resistant genes into the 
environment and eventually into commercial bee operations. 

To get started on your own backyard hive, first be sure your county allows it. Check your city 
ordinances and regulations, otherwise you may be fined. California requires you to register 
annually with your county and pay a registration fee. Read books and go online to learn as 
much as you can, and see if there’s a local beekeeping association you can contact for 

information and to join as a member. Another important step is to discuss your new hobby 
with your family and neighbors and make sure they’re OK with your raising bees and— 

very importantly—are not allergic to bee stings. 

If it’s all clear with your local ordinance, family, and neighbors, prepare for the arrival 
of your bees and buy a beehive locally or online. Buying a used beehive may be an 
option, so keep an eye out in local beekeeping club newsletters and online ads. If situating 
your hive in your backyard, be sure that your yard has a tall fence or shrubbery—at least six 
feet high. This will help guide the bees’ flight path above people’s heads and lessen the chance 

bees will bump into people and sting them. Also important is to have safety clothing, including 
a full bee suit, with hat, veil, and gloves, and any necessary equipment such as a smoker, which is 
a cylindrical container with bellows attached. The smoke has the effect of calming the bees as the 
smoke distracts them. 

According to a January 2015 Popular Mechanics article, there are three kinds of honeybees that 
are good for beginner beekeepers because of their gentle demeanor: Italians, which are the most 
commonly available and are productive and easy to manage; Carniolans, which can weather harsh 
winters well but require more maintenance; and Russian bees, which are also 
more complex to manage but are resistant to varroa mites—a big benefit. Buy 
your bees early in the year—no later than spring—and the bees will have 
time to harvest enough pollen and nectar for the winter honey. As far as 
where to buy your bees, check with your local beekeeping association for 
reputable local sellers. 



            

    

 
 

 

  

  

 

 

  
 

  

            

Make sure the bees 
have access to water on 
your property. Situate the 
beehive near the water and 
nectar sources, and where it 
has protection from wind. The 
ideal temperature inside the colony is 90 to 95 degrees 
Fahrenheit, so depending on your local climate, put the 
hive in full sun or in partial shade. The hives also will do 
better if they have early-morning sun exposure. 

As far as maintenance, although beekeeping does not require 
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RESOURCES 
American Beekeeping Federation:
www.abfnet.org 

Bee Culture: The Magazine of American Beekeeping: 
www.beeculture.com 

American Honey Producers Association: 
www.ahpanet.com 
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daily work, regularly check that your bees and queen are healthy, 
and that the bees are laying eggs. 

With the proper preparation and care, your beehive is great for 
the environment and will help keep your own garden healthy 
and thriving. Plus, you’ll have more honey than you’ll 
know what to do with. 

Quick Facts 
About Pollination
 Pollination happens when pollen is 
moved within flowers or from flower 
to flower by pollinators such as birds, 
bees, butterflies, moths, and beetles. 
Movement of the pollen causes 
the plant to become fertilized and 
produce fruits, seeds, and young 
plants.

 One-third of all vegetables and fruits 
exist in the United States because of 
pollination.

 Healthy ecosystems depend on 
pollinators. Plants produced through 
pollination clean our air, supply 
oxygen, and support wildlife. 

To attract pollinators to your own 
garden, fill it with certain native plants 
or wildflowers, including manzanita, 
common yarrow, wild lilac, and 
lavender. 

Sources: National Park Service, Pollinator Partnership, 
www.benefits-of-honey.com, National Honey Bee DA, 
UC Berkeley Urban Bee Lab. 

http://www.benefits-of-honey.com
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Driverless cars—it sounds like something 
from a science fiction movie. But if you think 
the prospect of seeing a driverless car on 
the street sounds preposterous, you may 
want to think twice. Driverless cars are well 
on their way. Companies such as Google, 
Toyota, Ford, Tesla, Uber, BMW, and General 
Motors are getting on board, and California’s 
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 
recently proposed driverless car regulations. 

How they work ... basically 
Turning a “dumb” vehicle into a smart, 
autonomous one requires different 
systems to work together. A driverless 
car has a GPS system similar to the 
ones found in regular vehicles that work 
with a system of sensors, cameras, and 
radars using lasers. This combination 
of equipment helps to decipher static 
and dynamic conditions while driving, 
such as road construction, street lights, 
pedestrians, overpasses, signs, and 
lane markings. Also, the controller area 
network (CAN bus) takes the information 

from the other systems and processes 
it so the car can drive autonomously, 
deciphering when and how to complete 
driving functions such as steering, 
acceleration, and braking. As part of the 
technology, a three-dimensional map of 
surroundings is created with software 
in a self-driving car, allowing it to 
recognize land markers, signs, and overall 
environment. 

The positive 
Safety increases with a driverless car, 
proponents contend. An April 2013 article 
in The Economist stated that because of 
the roof-mounted sensors in self-driving 
cars, which can see in all directions, 
there is “arguably a greater situational 
awareness than a human driver.” 

Since the majority of collisions happen 
due to driver error, this works in favor 
of driverless cars as well. The U.S. 
Department of Transportation’s National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration 

(NHTSA) estimated that 94 percent of 
highway crashes are a result of human 
error, according to its National Motor 
Vehicle Crash Causation Survey conducted 
from 2005 to 2007. The NHTSA’s 2014 
Crash Data Key Findings report stated 
various statistics outlining human-error 
induced accidents. It found that alcohol-
impaired driving accounted for 31 percent 
of total fatalities, distracted driving 
accounted for 10 percent of all fatalities, 
drowsy drivers accounted for 2.6 percent of 
all fatalities, and speeding-related crashes 
accounted for 28 percent of all fatalities. 

Driverless cars should also free up 
space. More parking spaces should be 
available as driverless cars can drop off 
passengers and park elsewhere, or pick 
up other passengers. 

Those with disabilities, such as the 
visually impaired or physically disabled, 
would now be able to drive. For the 
elderly, according to the American 
Association of Retired Persons, there are 
more than 45 million people in the United 

Driving Without
 a Driver 
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States age 65 or older, a figure that is 
rapidly increasing. Self-driving cars will 
give them the mobility and independent 
living they may be missing otherwise. 

With less time having to drive behind 
the wheel yourself, you can concentrate 
on other activities, such as getting work 
done and chatting with passengers. 

The concerns 
Some experts say that similar to other 
smart devices and home technologies, cars 
equipped with CAN bus can be vulnerable 
to hacking because of the lack of strong 
security and privacy of collected data. 

Additionally, self-driving cars will be 
expensive, at least initially. Currently, the 
technology adds $70,000 to $100,000 to 
the cost of a car, according to an August 
2014 Washington Post article. However, 
down the road, assuming demand 
increases and there is mass production, 
projections indicate the price could fall to 
as low as $3,000 to $5,000. 

Concerns have been raised about the 
need for split-second decisions. For 
example, what if a child runs into the 
street to get a ball? Other potential 
issues include when a person is directing 
traffic versus street lights, and regarding 
sudden and inclement weather such as 
heavy rainstorms and snowfall. Would 
a self-driving car be able to safely and 
competently handle those situations? 

DMV-proposed regulations 
Because of these types of concerns, 
the California DMV announced draft 
rules in December 2015. Cars would 
have to have a steering wheel and a 
licensed driver present, who would be 
liable for traffic violations. Also, drivers 
of autonomous cars would have to have 
special training through the manufacturer 
and then receive a special certification 
on their driver’s license. Manufacturers 
would receive a permit for three years, 
during which consumers could lease 
cars, but manufacturers would have 
to track driving safety and report 
performance information to DMV. The 
DMV’s intention is to take into account 
public safety without slowing down the 
advancement of self-driving technology. 

So far, the progress definitely doesn’t 
show any signs of stopping. Lyft recently 
announced a partnership with General 
Motors to work on building a driverless 
fleet of cars. Google and Ford have 
announced a joint venture to build 
self-driving vehicles. 

Driverless cars will likely meet with initial 
resistance—for those of us who have 
been driving for years, it’s a difficult 
concept to wrap our heads around. 
However, a 2015 Business Insider 
Intelligence report projects 10 million 
self-driving cars on the road by 2020. 
The technology also got a boost from 
the federal government: In January, 
the Obama administration announced 
a 10-year, $4 billion plan to help the 
development of self-driving cars. 

The long-term vision of driverless 
car technology is vehicle-to-vehicle 
communication to eliminate the need 
for street lights, stop signs, etc., and 
bring further efficiency, less congestion, 
and more safety. But that’s even farther 
down the road. For now, don’t be 
surprised if in the next few years you 
find yourself driving next to a 
passengers-only vehicle. 

The cars can drive 
autonomously, deciphering 
when and how to complete 
driving functions such as 
steering, acceleration, 
and braking. 
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 NARROW F	 CUS
 
Online Refractions Aren’t the Same as Comprehensive Eye Exams 
At first sight, it sounds convenient and cost-effective—buy an online refractive test for a relatively small fee and, 
in exchange, get a prescription for glasses or contact lenses from a California-licensed ophthalmologist. 

However, be aware that perfect vision doesn’t necessarily mean healthy eyes. Substituting an online refractive 
test for a comprehensive eye exam can mean key issues could be missed and you could be putting your eye 
health—and possibly your overall health—at serious risk. 

Some eye health issues have few warning signs and no pain, and don’t just affect the elderly. 
A comprehensive eye exam done by an eye care professional (optometrist or ophthalmologist) 
can help ensure that a problem is found and treated early. For example, diabetes affects 
more than 8 percent of the U.S. population, but about 7 million people are unaware they 
are diabetic, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 

What is an online refractive test? 
An online refractive test is a service provided through a website. They are vision tests used 
to determine the appropriate lens power necessary to correct your vision. You take a brief 
test online for a fee, then you can receive a prescription for eyeglasses or contact lenses 
from a California-licensed ophthalmologist. 

Refractive versus comprehensive 
A refractive test is only a part of a comprehensive eye exam. During comprehensive exams, 
an optometrist or ophthalmologist evaluates the overall health of your eyes by: 

•	 Understanding your case history. 

•	 Completing a thorough exam, which will determine the internal and external health of your eyes. 

•	 Conducting an evaluation of your refractive status (how your eyes focus and coordinate) and 
providing you with a prescription if necessary. 

The California State Board of Optometry (Board), which is a consumer protection agency that
 
licenses and regulates optometrists and the optometry profession, believes routine,
 
comprehensive eye exams are crucial.
 

“Your vision is dependent on the health of your eyes. Refractive eye exams alone do not tell you
 
how healthy your eyes are,” says Jessica Sieferman, Executive Officer of the Board. “You may
 
have serious eye conditions that could result in blindness—and a refractive eye exam would not
 
diagnose it. We urge all consumers to get comprehensive eye exams from an optometrist or
 
ophthalmologist. There truly is no substitute.”
 

Comprehensive eye exams can discover issues such as cataracts, glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy,
 
retinal tears and scarring, eye infections, and dry eye syndrome—conditions that cannot be
 
checked or detected with an online refractive exam.
 

For more information, contact the Board by phone at (916) 575-7170 or
 
toll-free at (866) 585-2666, and visit the Board’s website, www.optometry.ca.gov.
 

http://www.optometry.ca.gov/


           

 
 

 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

           

TAX
�
TIPS
�

It’s tax season again— 
how will you get your 
taxes done this year? 
Will you take the plunge 
and file your taxes on 
your own? Will you hire 
someone to file your taxes 
for you? How do you 
decide who to choose? 

Stressful, right? 

There’s no need to stress. 
If you are armed with the 
right information from 
reliable resources, tax 
time can be a little less 
painful. 

Filing onYour Own 
If you plan on filing your own taxes, you may be able to do them for free. If 
your adjusted gross income was $62,000 or less in 2015, you can use Free 
File. Free File provides free federal tax preparation and e-file for taxpayers, 
either through brand-name software or online fillable forms. To find out if you 
qualify, go to www.irs.gov/freefile. If your income was higher than $62,000, 
Free File Fillable Forms are available. You can use CalFile to e-file your 
California State tax return directly to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) for free. 
Simply visit www.ftb.ca.gov to get started. You’ll need to have completed 
your federal tax return in order to use CalFile. 

Choosing aTax Preparer 
If you plan on hiring someone to help do the work for you, you have several 
options. You have plenty of resources to help you choose a tax preparer. You 
may choose to use a Certified Public Accountant (CPA), Public Accountant 
(PA), California Tax Education Council (CTEC) Registered Tax Preparer, 
Enrolled Agent (EA) or an attorney. To review the tax preparer’s history and 
qualifications, contact the appropriate licensing authority. 

If you choose a CPA, the California Board of Accountancy (CBA) has useful 
information on their website at www.cba.ca.gov. A CPA is a person who has met 
the requirements of California State law and has been issued a license to practice 
public accounting by the CBA. Prior to having any work done, you should get 
an engagement letter detailing the work to be performed by the CPA. If you want 
to be certain to be represented before the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) by the 
CPA, this should be agreed upon and included in the engagement letter and signed 
by both parties. If the CPA will not agree, you should get a different CPA. Once 
the work is complete, if you believe the CPA did something illegal or violated 
professional standards, you can and should file a complaint with the CBA. 
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How to Select an IncomeTax Return Preparer— 
Tips from the IRS and FTB 
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/982.pdf 

Before you select a tax preparer or tax preparation services: 
Check the tax preparer’s credentials to ensure the tax preparer meets 
your specific needs. 

Review the tax preparer’s history with these various licensing authorities: 

— CBA for CPAs and PAs. 

— CTEC for CTEC-registered tax preparers (CRTPs). 

— IRS Return Preparer Office of Enrollment for EAs. 

— State Bar of California for attorneys. 

Determine who will prepare your tax return before you contract for the 
service. Avoid tax preparers who delegate work to someone with less 
experience or knowledge. 

Ask if the tax preparer has a professional organization affiliation. The 
organization should provide or require its members to obtain continuing 
education and require them to adhere to an ethics code. 

Avoid tax preparers who guarantee a larger refund than other tax 
preparers. Given the same information, any qualified tax preparer should 
arrive at similar numbers. 

Select a tax preparer who can assist you if the IRS or the FTB contact 
you or audit your tax return. 

Understand your tax return. A good tax preparer should clearly answer 
any questions about your tax return. 

Review all information before you sign your tax return: name, address, 
Social Security numbers, or other tax identification numbers. 

E-file and request a direct deposit refund. You generally receive your 
refund within 10 days. 

Understand the fees and interest rates tax preparers may charge on 
Refund Anticipation Loans (RALs). 

PreparerTax Identification Number Requirement: 
All paid tax return preparers are required to obtain a Preparer Tax 
Identification Number (PTIN) from the IRS and renew it annually. 

Go to www.irs.gov and search under “Tax Professionals” for additional 
information. 

Avoid a tax 
preparer who: 

Does not provide you a copy 
of your tax return. 

Does not exercise due 
diligence in tax return 
preparation. 

Charges unconscionable tax 
return preparation fees. 

Asks you to sign a blank tax 
return, or sign a tax return in 
pencil. 

Does not provide a PTIN on 
your tax return. 

Refuses to sign your tax 
return or complete the 
required tax preparer 
information. 

Is not properly registered or 
licensed, including new IRS 
regulations. 

Report Fraudulent 
Tax Preparers 

Contact the IRS by visiting 
its website at www.irs.gov 
and search for Preparer 
Complaint, or call 
(800) 829-0433. 
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the 
rapid emergence 

of CROWDFUNDING
 
In less time than President Obama has been calling  
the White House home, crowdfunding has grown into  
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    a global financial market where billions of dollars  
           annually change hands online. 

Dozens of 
crowdfunding websites— 
many catering to specialized niche markets—have 
sprung up in recent years as the concept has experienced dramatic growth and 
proven to be more than a fiscal fad, although the vast majority of crowdfunding 
projects are hosted by only a handful of websites. 

Crowdfunding involves an individual or business seeking funding for a  
project or other venture by raising money from a large number of people. 
The three common crowdfunding models are based on donations, rewards, 
and investments. 

Donor-based financial backers choose to contribute to a cause without an 
expectation of receiving anything in return—a family needing help paying 
expensive hospital bills after a tragedy, for instance. For those contributing 
within the reward model of crowdfunding, items or services are typically offered 
in exchange for financial support. This could be a sample of the product being 
developed or a copy of an album being recorded, etc. A more recent model is 



           

 
 

 
 
 

  
 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

investment crowdfunding, where businesses seeking 

capital sell ownership stakes online in the form of equity 

or debt. In this model, individuals who fund become owners 

or shareholders and have a potential for financial return.
 

Three of the most widely used crowdfunding sites are
 
GoFundMe, Kickstarter, and Indiegogo. GoFundMe is geared
 
toward community donation-based ventures, while Kickstarter and
 
Indiegogo largely feature “creators” in the arts and product developers.
 
The projects seeking funding on those sites—and the fundraising goals
 
of those projects—vary widely. An unknown author, for example, may be seeking a
 
few thousand dollars to get a book published, while a famous film actor or director has
 
been known to raise millions on Kickstarter for the production of a movie.
 

A recent visit to Indiegogo provided a snapshot of the diverse projects seeking funding. Four 

of the site’s “Top Picks” were featured on its homepage: Bluetooth “smartgloves” for runners,
 
cyclists, motorsports, etc. ($54,386 raised); a “bionic” knee brace ($57,247); a band trying to
 
record a new album ($1,829); and a modular stand-up desk that turns into a mobile case ($35,207).
 

In 2015, a well-known video game developer of the Shenmue 

action adventure series raised more than $6.3 million from 70,000 

backers on Kickstarter to fund the making of the third installment 

of the game, according to The Guardian in Britain. Developer Yu 

Suzuki’s original goal was to raise $2 million.
 

Crowdfunding website fundraising policies differ. Kickstarter, which launched 

seven years ago and in February marked the milestone of 100,000 projects being 

successfully funded, has an all-or-nothing fundraising policy—if a project doesn’t 

meet its goal, all of the money pledged is returned to the backers. Indiegogo’s policy,
 
however, is more flexible, so that no matter what percentage of the fundraising goal is 

reached, the campaign originator still gets the money.
 

Another significant, growing segment of the crowdfunding industry 
is in real estate. Until recently, only investors with a net worth 
of $1 million or more or who earn $200,000 a year (known as 
“accredited”) were able to invest in real estate deals through 
crowdfunding platforms such as RealtyShares and FundRise. 

But in October, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission 

finalized proposed rules for Title III of the JOBS Act, allowing non­
accredited investors entry into the real estate crowdfunding arena 

on a widespread scale. For the first time, the ruling gives potentially 

millions of new investors an opportunity to invest in private real estate 

deals with relatively modest amounts. The real estate crowdfunding industry 

is projected to hit the $3.5 billion mark in 2016, according to Forbes.
 

Crowdfunding platforms use a variety of fee structures. Most commonly, a website will 

take a commission on the funds awarded, usually in the range of 3 to 10 percent. With a 

subscription fee, websites offer a monthly or yearly fixed-fee subscription that comes 

with a cap on the number of projects to be offered. In a flat fee format, sites charge a 
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fixed fee in exchange for 
hosting each project. 

Consumers should be aware 
that the inherent structure of 

pledging on crowdfunding sites 
comes with risk because it’s largely 

based on trust. Online reviews for 
various crowdfunding sites are rife 

with posts of unhappy users—most 
often stories from backers who say they 

were scammed in some form. 

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) settled 
its first crowdfunding fraud case in 2015 

against a project creator, Erik Chevalier, who 
scammed more than $122,000 from Kickstarter 

backers who believed in the board game he was 
developing. After 14 months, Chevalier abruptly canceled the 

project and promised to refund the contributions but he never 
issued refunds or rewards. 

Playing on sympathies of strangers wanting to help, an Iowa 
woman faked her 5-year-old daughter’s terminal cancer in 
2014 through a GoFundMe campaign. She was arrested after it 
was discovered the girl was healthy. 

Before finding a cause or product to fund, know the onus 
of vetting a particular project or cause is on you. Reputable 

crowdfunding sites have customer service departments that 
can answer questions or e-mails, but recouping money 

in the case of a scam is unlikely. 

There are several tips (see below), 
however, that consumers can use 
to reduce the chances of being 
a victim of fraud, according to 
the FTC. 

HELPFUL TIPS 
• Look out for campaigns with little or no real details. 

• Watch out for no links: Credible campaigns have personal links and a Facebook page that 
features real-time comments, believable friends, and an extensive timeline. 

• Check the creator’s background: Has he or she launched other projects successfully? Do they 
have a professional online profile that shows a background with expertise in appropriate fields? 

• Be suspicious: Is the person trying to fund the same or a very similar project on multiple 
crowdfunding sites, indicating a possible quick cash grab?  

If you learn of a crowdfunding scam or are victimized by such 
a fraud, take action by filing a complaint with the FTC or your 
State Attorney General’s Office. Also alert other consumers by 
commenting on a creator’s profile or crowdfunding site. 

Every indication suggests the explosive growth of the 
crowdfunding industry over the past few years will continue, 
at least in the short-term. In 2010, the crowdfunding industry 
represented $880 million dollars in commerce, according to 
Forbes. By 2014 that figure had skyrocketed to $16 billion— 
and one year later, in 2015, the global market had more than 
doubled to more than $34 billion. 

The U.K.-based The Crowdfunding Centre did an analysis of 
five crowdfunding sites—Kickstarter, Indiegogo, Fundrazr, 
Crowdfunder.co.uk, and Rockethub—from the start of 2014 
through January 2016. It tracked 339,000 projects during 
that period and found about 22 percent were successfully fully 
funded. A little more than $2 billion was pledged to all projects 
by 20.6 million backers. The average pledge amount was $89. 

Crowdfunding has emerged as a viable addition to the broader 
finance industry, with innovators, artists, and creators of all 
types finding financial backing for projects without the need 
for a bank or loan. For the first time, the opportunity to invest a 
small sum in a multimillion-dollar real estate deal is possible. 
Strangers are helping people in dire financial circumstances 
because of tragedy. 

But, as is often the case in any industry where large sums of 
money are involved, there are criminals trying to exploit others. 
Consumers should be aware that some research and fact-
checking can go a long way to avoiding being a victim of fraud. 

MORE INFORMATION: 
Federal Trade Commission: www.ftc.gov 

The Crowdfunding Centre: www.thecrowdfundingcentre.com 

http://www.thecrowdfundingcentre.com
http://www.ftc.gov/
http:Crowdfunder.co.uk


           

 

 

 
  

           

Managing the HIGH COST 
of PRESCRIPTI  N DRUGS 

Last fall, news outlets across the country covered the story of Turing Pharmaceuticals, which raised the 
price of an old generic drug by more than 5,000 percent in October 2015. The price for the drug used to 
treat parasitic infections went overnight from $13.50 a pill to $750 a pill and created public outrage while 
also highlighting the overall problem of spiraling prescription drug costs. 

The skyrocketing cost of prescription drugs has become a national issue and has left many 
patients wondering how they can continue to pay for their medications. 

To save money, many consumers have resorted to skipping medication doses, splitting pills, ordering from 
dubious online pharmacies, or even discontinuing use. All of these can lead to complications, worsening 
medical conditions, undertreatment, hospitalizations, or even death. 

Speak with your pharmacist about which medications can be prescribed in higher doses and then safely 
split. If you do this, always use a pill splitter for an even cut. Pill-splitting devices are available for a 
nominal cost at pharmacies. 

Some consumers are turning to online purchasing of prescription drugs to save money, but many online 
pharmacies are frauds and sell fake drugs that may contain toxins and poisons and none of the desired 
medication. The Board of Pharmacy (Board) estimates that 97 percent of online pharmacy websites don’t 
comply with pharmacy laws and standards. The Board recommends doing business only with California-
licensed pharmacies. To check a license, go to www.pharmacy.ca.gov/online/verify_lic.shtml. 

Be aware of the dangerous and illegal practice of purchasing prescription medications from street 
vendors. Those drugs are often counterfeit, stolen, illegal, expired, or contain none of the desired 
medication and may contain toxic materials. 

The Medical Board of California recommends that patients concerned about the cost of their medications 
talk to their prescriber to discuss alternate medications, including generics, which might be lower in 
cost. It is vital that patients tell their doctor if they are skipping doses or reducing doses to save money. A 
pharmacist can also check if there are alternate generic medications that are less costly. 

A January 2016 Consumer Reports article encourages consumers to check various pharmacies for prices. 
The publication recently reported that prices for generic drugs can vary considerably between pharmacies. 
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It gave the example of Plavix, a drug used to prevent blood clots after a recent heart attack or stroke, which 
costs $13 at a membership store, $30 at two large retail outlets, and as much as $130 at a chain pharmacy. 

There are also tools available to help consumers shop around for the best price. Mobile application and 
website Goodrx (www.goodrx.com) offers savings tips and coupons and shows the prices at various 
pharmacies in your geographic area. 

However, be careful about simultaneously purchasing prescriptions from different pharmacies. Pharmacists 
always check to ensure that a new medication won’t cause an interaction with any prescription medications a 
patient may already be taking, and a pharmacist won’t have access to prescriptions filled by other pharmacies. 
Patients should always advise their pharmacist about any drugs they may be taking. 

According to a September 2015 MarketWatch article, customers should ask the pharmacy what their retail 
price is before presenting their insurance card because some retailers have generic medication lists from 
which consumers can purchase a month’s supply of generics for about $4 without going through their 
insurance. Lisa Gill, prescription drugs editor at Consumer Reports, said some independent pharmacies 
may be willing to match those prices. There are also patient assistance programs and discount 
cards available at NeedyMeds.org, a national nonprofit organization that offers free 
information on programs that help people who can’t afford their medications. 

Some pharmaceutical companies offer patient assistance programs, 
which can be found at RxAssist.org. This website maintains 
a comprehensive database of patient 
assistance programs set up by drug 
companies. The site also maintains a list 
of foundations and other organizations that 
can help patients afford their copayments. 

Another option for some patients to 
consider is making lifestyle changes that 
could improve their health and reduce their 
need for medications. Exercise 
and a healthier diet can result in lower 
blood pressure and reduce the 
need for diabetes medications and 
cholesterol-lowering medications. 

Whatever your circumstances, don’t give 
up taking needed medications because of cost. 
Instead, work with your health care providers to 
find affordable alternatives. 

For more information, see Board publications Splitting Pills: Understanding the Benefits and Risks 
( www.pharmacy.ca.gov/publications/pill_splitting_brochure.pdf) and 
Counterfeit Prescription Drugs: Protect Yourself, Your Family, and Your Pets 
( www.pharmacy.ca.gov/publications/counterfeit_drugs.pdf). 
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DCA’s New Consumer 
Publications 

The Small Claims Court: A Guide to its Practical Use 

www.dca.ca.gov/publications/small_claims/index.shtml 

The newly updated Small Claims Court guide contains valuable information 
on whether to file a small claims court case in the first place, as well as 
details on what to do if you’re suing or being sued in small claims court. 

The “Making the Best of Your Day in Court” section gives you tips on 
preparing your case; for example, gathering the documents you’ll 

need, arranging for your witnesses, presenting before a temporary 
judge, and presenting your claim or defense. 

The publication also has an extensive glossary of terms and a checklist 
for defendants and plaintiffs to follow before and after the hearing. 

What You Should Know Before Hiring a Professional Fiduciary 

www.fiduciary.ca.gov/forms_pubs/hire_fiduciary.pdf 

This new Professional Fiduciaries Bureau (Bureau) publication provides a variety 
of questions to ask when searching for a qualified Professional Fiduciary. 
The Bureau recommends you interview at least three licensed Professional 
Fiduciaries before making a decision, and ask questions like “How will you 
provide me with an accounting?” and “What are your internal controls like, and 
how is my confidential information protected?” 

All of the following new publications are available online. For printed copies to be mailed out at no charge, call the Publications 

Hotline at (866) 320-8652 and leave your name and mailing address and the name of the publication you would like mailed. 

Orders can also be placed online at www.dca.ca.gov/publications/publications_list.pdf. 

Available in 
English and 

Spanish 
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Real Estate Matters: Finding the Right Real Estate Agent 

www.bre.ca.gov/files/pdf/re16.pdf 

Before looking for a real estate agent, you may want to consult the Bureau 
of Real Estate’s new brochure. The publication gives numerous tips—from 
reviewing website postings from previous clients to looking up county court 
records for any pending criminal charges or civil actions—on vetting a 
real estate agent. Also be sure to use the brochure’s checklist before hiring 
an agent. 

Reverse Mortgages: Is One Right for You? 

www.calbre.ca.gov/files/pdf/re52.pdf 

If you’re considering taking on a reverse mortgage, there are many 
important things to consider first. The new Bureau of Real Estate brochure 
details the potential advantages and drawbacks, as well as the crucial 
questions to ask before you make a decision. 

Fraud Warnings for Homeowners in Financial Distress 

www.calbre.ca.gov/files/pdf/FraudBrochure0909.pdf 

Learn about protecting yourself against loan modification or foreclosure 
rescue scams, and about reporting fraud to the Bureau of Real Estate if you 
are already a victim of a scam. The publication also gives information about 
free and trusted sources for foreclosure avoidance counseling programs. 
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