Welcome to the California Department of Consumer Affairs
The Department of Consumers Affairs (DCA) administers more than 3.9 million licenses in more than 280 license types including certificates, registrations and permits, from architects to accountants, dentists to veterinarians. DCA protects and serves consumers in many ways:
- DCA is a licensing entity – Through its licensing entities, DCA licenses more than 3.6 million professionals and enables consumers to check the license status of these professionals online or by phone.
- DCA is a regulator – DCA investigates consumer complaints on issues under its jurisdiction. If violations are found, license holders can face discipline that includes probation, suspension or revocation of a license, fines and citations, letters of reprimand, or cease and desist orders.
- DCA is an educator – DCA educates consumers by giving them information they need to avoid being victimized by unscrupulous or unqualified people who promote deceptive or unsafe services.
New Prescribing Laws Take Effect January 1, 2022
Licensed healthcare practitioners with prescribing authority are subject to the e-prescribing requirements established by Assembly Bill (AB) 2789 (Wood, 2018). Beginning January 1, 2022, most prescriptions (including but not limited to prescriptions for controlled substances) issued by a licensed healthcare practitioner to a California pharmacy must be submitted electronically. For more information on this law and its requirements, please see the AB 2789 bulletin. Practitioners also can get answers to questions about complying with the law at Electronic Data Transmission Prescriptions (E-Prescriptions) – Frequently Asked Questions provided by the California State Board of Pharmacy.
Expedited Licensure for Refugees, Asylees, and Holders of Special Immigrant Visas
Starting January 1, 2021, Refugees, Asylees, and Holders of Special Immigrant Visas who apply for licensure by DCA boards and bureaus may seek an expedited licensure process. For more information, click here: https://www.dca.ca.gov/about_us/ab2113.shtml
How To Get Vaccinated
Learn more about how to get vaccinated by visiting the state’s COVID-19 website https://covid19.ca.gov/vaccines/#How-to-get-vaccinated. The state’s website has information on how to sign up for an appointment, find a walk-in site and more. Visit https://covid19.ca.gov/vaccines/#How-to-get-vaccinated for more information.
Notice Regarding COVID-19 Vaccine Administration
As the COVID-19 vaccines are distributed, the Department of Consumer Affairs is supporting the State’s effort to ensure that all providers follow the standards for allocating and administering COVID-19 vaccines. In particular, healing arts licensees must adhere to the current federal and state prioritization standards for allocating and administering COVID-19 vaccines in phases. The standards are available on the California Department of Public Health’s website at the following link: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/COVID-19/Drafting-Guidelines-Workgroup.aspx
For more information, please see the Vaccine Distribution Guidance document.
Notice of CURES Fee Increase
Effective April 1, 2021, the Controlled Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation System (CURES) fee will increase from $6 to $11 annually for a period of two years. The increase will be applied to licenses expiring after July 1, 2021, and is assessed at the time of license renewal on specified licensees of DCA allied health boards that prescribe, order, administer, furnish, or dispense Schedule II, Schedule III, Schedule IV, or Schedule V controlled substances.
Most licensees will see a $22 CURES Fee due to the biennial renewal cycle. The fee covers the reasonable regulatory costs of the Department of Justice for operating and maintaining CURES, a critical element in the state’s effort to address the growing danger of opioid addiction stemming from prescription drug abuse.
For more information about CURES, visit: https://oag.ca.gov/cures.